How to grab you external IP in the bash shell

4 04 2013

Just for the record: I was wondering what command line tool would display my external IP address while surfing the internet. Actually I want to refine my servers security settings and block out IPs for incoming traffic which I would not use. Instead of doing this systematically I want to just list some IPs at different computers I use.

It appears you need some script (PHP, JAVA, etc) to do the job on an external host. Many “whatsmyip”-like websites produce a lot of unwanted noise around the information, but tonight i stubled over myip.dnsdynamic.com which simply displays the IP, so here it goes:

wget myip.dnsdynamic.org -O - -o /dev/null

 

 

Just tonight i stumbled over

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

